All Natural hair gel

Here I go again. I apologize for being awful at blogging but to be fair, I am just figuring it out. I promise to try and be more dedicated in the future.

Along with washing my hair with natural ingredients, I have been searching (mostly in vain) to find an all natural method of styling my hair. I have searched through hair care aisles, talked to hair care experts, and discussed the issue with family and friends. Then, it happened. I googled ‘best products for curly hair’ and I discovered NapturallyCurly.com. I watched her video and immediately ran to my kitchen. Whole flaxseeds? Check. Water? Check. Essential oils? Check. Ten minutes later, I had it. My all natural answer to hair styling.

Before I get into the “how-to” portion of this, let me share some of the benefits of flaxseed hair gel.
– Promotes hair growth. I haven’t been using this long enough to be able to say this from first hand experience, but flaxseeds tend to help with metabolic functions which is related to hair and nail growth, so it is scientifically valid. Read more about health benefits of flaxseeds.
-Budget friendly. You can reuse the flaxseeds for either more gel, or in foods after making the gel.
-Leaves hair soft, shiny, and moisturized.
-Gives hold with no annoying crunch. Doesn’t cause breakage.
-Fast drying.
-Great for all hair types.
-Gives great curl definition.

Along with all of these reasons, it’s all natural! So you know exactly what is in your hair product and you do not need to worry about a ‘secret’ ingredient being included that actually destroys your hair.

How To Make It
Gather your ingredients. You will need about 1/4 cup of whole flaxseeds (get them in the cereal or bulk foods section at the supermarket), 2 cups of water, and an essential oil of your choice. The golden or the small dark brown ones both work as long as they are labeled organic. Flaxseeds are ridiculously inexpensive so if you don’t already have some, you do not have to worry about going broke buying them.

1. Pour water and flaxseeds into medium saucepan over medium-high.

20130809-201838.jpg

20130809-201721.jpg
2. Stir frequently.
20130809-201933.jpg

3. When water turns cloudy and is about the consistency of egg whites, turn off heat.

20130809-202014.jpg
4. Place strainer over container and gently strain water through.

20130809-202047.jpg
5. Put aside used flaxseeds for use later or discard.
6. Add a few drops of essential oil (if desired). Cover gel and place in refrigerator to cool.

20130809-202125.jpg
That’s it!

For thicker gel, use more seeds and less water. This makes a LOT of gel and it should last you about 3 weeks if stored in the fridge properly.

Leave a Reply

